Be Our Guest

Tale as old as time, song as old as rhyme

Beauty and the Beast is an enchanting love story that has been around since the eighteenth century. This story started as French tale and then later became a film in 1934. Beauty and the Beast continued to be made into many more films until Disney turned the story in a musical in 1991. Soon after in 1994 Beauty and the Beast hit Broadway. And more recently a live-action musical movie was released this year. This newest adaptation has become one of the top ten highest grossed films ever. It is personally my favorite Disney live-action movie they have done so far.

Belle is my favorite Disney Princess so when I heard they were filming a live-action movie I couldn’t wait to see it. I think they did an amazing job bringing this story to life. I liked how they included more of the Beast’s backstory throughout the movie. You also get a closer look at the life of the servants and who they were before they were changed into household objects.

I was a little wary about the changes they would make including the new songs. But one of the new ones they added, “Evermore” is my new favorite song from musical. Dan Stevens, who plays the Beast, did an amazing job putting the emotion into the performance of the song. You can hear the heartbreak and anger in his voice. As well as Dan Stevens, Emma Watson was an excellent choice to play Belle. She did an incredible job playing the strong independent young woman who loves adventure.

The Beast of the Opera

While watching this musical for the second time I came to the realization how similar it is to Phantom of the Opera. They are both so haunting and sad. Both musicals take place in France and the rose is an important symbol. The Beast and the Phantom both have comparable qualities. They both desperately want to be loved despite their appearances. There are also complex love triangles, each with one girl (Belle and Christine) and two different men (Gaston and Beast/Phantom and Raoul). The two musicals also share a duo that help guide the girls through the problems. Mrs. Potts and Chip help Belle while Madame Giry and Meg assist Christine. I found these similarities to be quite interesting.

Picture Credits:

https://www.nighthelper.com/beauty-beast-dvd-today-june-62017/

2 thoughts on “Be Our Guest

  1. I actually just watched this for a second time last week. It’s definitely one of my favorite Disney productions also. I love the comparison to phantom!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Beauty and the Beast. Such a magical romantic movie. I actually find Beauty and the Beast to be a happy musical, which has some sadder moments. This movie made me feel like a kid again and I hope to own the movie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment