Ease On Down the Road

From Kansas to New York City

The Wiz is unlike any musical I have ever seen. It is an urban spin on the classic book and movie: The Wizard of Oz. The Wiz started as a hit Broadway show in 1974 and was then made into a movie in 1978. What makes this rendition different from the rest is the all African-American cast. The Wiz has an incredible cast composed of Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, Nipsey Russell, Ted Ross, and Richard Pryor.

Behind the Silver Slippers

They changed several things in the classic story to be more modern and urbanized. This Dorothy lives in New York instead of Kansas. A snow storm tornado takes Dorothy away to this magical land that looks identical to New York. The Witches, good or bad, have names instead of cardinal directions. The munchkins are children who were turned into graffiti on the playground walls. As Dorothy travels through Oz she finds her friends at famous locations in New York. Some sites they visited are the Brooklyn Bridge, Coney Island, The New York Public Library, and even the Subway. The iconic Emerald City is located at the World Trade Center Towers.

The Wiz Ross Jackson Russell Ross

There are many different versions of the Wizard of Oz but this is by far my favorite. I love how they changed small details in the story to better fit this time and era. The songs are catchy and fun. Michael Jackson’s Scarecrow is my favorite character. This was the acting role that broke him out of Jackson 5 and into becoming the King of Pop. Both his singing and dancing talents are highlighted in the musical. Diana Ross’s voice shines through her performances. And I am still amazed at how great she can dance in her silver slippers. Although I think it would have been better to have a younger actress play Dorothy; considering Diana is almost 20 years older than the original Dorothy. However we wouldn’t have this movie rendition without Diana Ross.

As a Broadway show, The Wiz received seven Tony’s. Sadly this movie adaptation failed in the box office. I personally think they were ahead of their time. They had a fun cast, great costumes, and incredible sets to retell this magical story. Rob Cohen (producer) and Sidney Lumet (director) did a wonderful job modifying this new world to the big screen. I will admit it can be corny at times, but I think that is what makes it so fun to watch.  I’m always a sucker for a good adventure musical or movie and I believe The Wiz does just that for me.

 

Picture Credits:

https://www.cdandlp.com/en/michael-jackson-quincy-jones-d.-ross/the-wiz-bof-sountrack-film/double-lp-gatefold/r1057439802/

http://lecinemadreams.blogspot.com/2012/07/the-wiz-1978.html

3 thoughts on “Ease On Down the Road

  1. Another fun review! Wouldn’t have been at the top of my list of favorites so it was nice to read all the background info and your enthusiasm for it!

    Like

  2. I was very intrigued to read this blog since this is one musical/show I have never seen. I love the Wizard of Oz so was apprehensive on wanting to see this with all the changes. You just changed my mind and now perhaps I will try to watch it sometime!

    Like

Leave a comment